Four anniversary teams to be honored during ’13 season

AUBURN — Four Auburn football teams will be honored with anniversary recognitions at Jordan-Hare Stadium during the 2013 season, the school announced Wednesday.

The 1993, 1988, 1983 and 1963 squads will be recognized for their accomplishments during home games over the course of the season, beginning with the undefeated ’93 squad during the Aug. 31 season opener versus Washington State at 6 p.m.

Twenty years ago the ’93 Tigers, coached by Terry Bowden, went 11-0 and finished with a No. 4 national ranking. The WSU game will be televised by ESPNU.

The 1988 Tigers were co-champions of the SEC and they’ll be honored at the Sept. 7 game against Arkansas State. Auburn posted a 10-2 record and faced Florida State in the Sugar Bowl, finishing the ’88 season under coach Pat Dye ranked No. 7 in the nation. The ASU game is at 6:30 p.m. and will be televised by FSN.

The 1963 Auburn squad will celebrate its 50th anniversary at the Homecoming game versus Western Carolina Oct. 12. Coach Ralph “Shug” Jordan’s Tigers went 9-2, finished No. 5 in the national rankings and faced Nebraska in the Orange Bowl.

The 1983 Tigers, who won Auburn’s first SEC championship since 1957, will celebrate their 30th anniversary at the Florida Atlantic game Oct. 26. The ’83 Auburn squad went 11-1 overall including 6-0 in the SEC and defeated Michigan 9-7 in the Sugar Bowl to finish No. 3 in most of the national polls.

Members of each team being honored will be recognized on the field; they will also visit with fans at the Verizon Wireless Autograph Tent located at Plainsman Park two hours prior to kickoff.