Tigers picked to finish last in SEC West

First-year Auburn baseball coach Sunny Golloway's squad was picked to finish last in the SEC West by the conference's coaches in the preseason poll. (Lauren Barnard/Auburn University)

First-year Auburn baseball coach Sunny Golloway’s squad was picked to finish last in the SEC West by the conference’s coaches in the preseason poll. (Lauren Barnard/Auburn University)

AUBURN – The SEC’s baseball coaches gave a gloomy forecast for new Auburn baseball coach Sunny Golloway.

The Tigers were picked to finish last in the SEC West and received the fewest overall votes (21) in the conference in the coaches’ preseason poll, the SEC announced Tuesday.

Auburn opens the 2014 regular season against Indiana State in the Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. at noon CT Friday and will also take on Ohio State and Connecticut over the weekend. The Tigers play their home opener against Alabama State at 3 p.m. Wednesday Feb. 19.

Golloway takes over the helm of a program which finished 33-23 overall and 13-17 in SEC play last season, missing out on a bid to the postseason. Auburn’s 2013 season concluded with a 6-3 loss to Alabama in the first round of the SEC Tournament.

South Carolina is predicted to win the 2014 SEC baseball championship by a one-vote margin, as voted by the league’s 14 baseball coaches, in the 23rd annual preseason SEC poll. The Gamecocks, ranked No. 14 nationally in the preseason USA Today Coaches’ Poll, seek to capture their fourth SEC Championship.

LSU and Mississippi State, ranked second and fourth in the USA Today poll respectively, received four votes each in the overall vote. LSU has 15 SEC Championships while Mississippi State has 10, the last of which came in 1989. Vanderbilt also received one vote to win the league title.

SEC conference play is set to begin Friday, March 14 with the SEC Tournament to be played at Hoover Metropolitan Stadium May 20-25.

Western Division
Team                                     Pts.
1)  LSU (6)                          84
2)  Miss. State (7)               83
3)  Alabama                        58
Texas A&M (1)               58
5)  Arkansas                        44
6)  Ole Miss                         35
7)  Auburn                           21

Eastern Division
Team                                     Pts.

1)  South Carolina (9)            86
2)  Vanderbilt (5)                   82
3)  Florida                             69
4)  Kentucky                         47
5)  Tennessee                       39
6)  Georgia                           38
7)  Missouri                          24

SEC Champion: South Carolina (5); LSU (4), Mississippi State (4); Vanderbilt (1)